Leaders are readers

Standard

If you would have told me 5 yrs. ago I would be reading a book every day during my lunch break, read one at home, carry one with me everywhere I go, attend a ladies book club every other month…I would have laughed and told you that you have totally lost your mind.

It isn’t that I can’t read, it is just that I didn’t like to.  Sure I read my bible, I read all the time to my kids while they were growing up, I read to my grands, I read to study b/c I taught S.S. & small group. These were great reasons, but I still never read enough.

When I walked through the airport terminal and would see kids, parents sitting reading a book, I thought that was such a waste of time.  Why would anyone read a “book” when there were plenty of mags lying around.  Now I loved landscaping mags, home & gardening mags, remodeling project mags, & even subscribed to Forbes.  That was the extent of my reading.

In 2003 I had a crisis.  I was the victim of a Nigerian internet scam that rocked my world.  I was actually looking for grants to begin my own biz.  A tea parlor and gift shop.  I would host Victorian tea parties for kids and senior citizens, have  a meeting room for businesses to use for retreats, and just a knock out gift shop featuring local artisans, etc.  The Small Biz Bureau of my town was so impressed with my detailed presentation that they were convinced I would survive.  Long story short….1 cashiers check and a devastating phone call from the bank that cashed it later….I was in a mess.  I had to meet with the FBI, volunteered to work with the secret service, had to sign a loan for $30,000 to pay the bank back and just tried to remember to breathe.

During that time I already worked 3 jobs and never saw my son.  I was so ashamed of being taken for granted and just making a stupid decision that I couldn’t tell anyone.  I went to work in tears everyday as a critical care nurse. I would cry all the way to work, dry my tears in the parking garage, and then cry on the way home.  My world was turned upside down.

I had a dream about moving to Texas. Don’t think I am cuckoo…I believe dreams are the language of the Holy Spirit.  I waited for months to call a friend that actually lived in Lancaster, TX.   Her and her family came to visit as she wanted me to move and become a property manager of her lease purchase real estate properties while developing my own biz base.  When I explained about the internet scam she was terrified.  The greatest thing she has ever done for me was to leave me with a book.  One book that transformed my life.  The book? Rich Dad Poor Dad.  I read it immediately and then went to get everything Robert Kiyosaki had ever written.  Then I expanded to other genius authors. I would take my son and his bud to the mall, and for hours would sit in the courtyard reading voraciously.  What did this do for me?  Well I noticed that I could hold intelligent conversations with my ER docs.  They already respected me tremendously b/c of my medical knowledge and experience, but now the tables turned.  We talked investing, real estate, business, etc. They looked forward to our discussions and my questions! It was refreshing!

You know what the problem was? I was surrounded by 95% thinkers and had no vehicle to use all that vast knowledge I was gaining on. I was stifled and couldn’t stand it.  In 2004 I moved to Texas, got in business in the net work marketing field (that is another thing you would have NEVER caught me doing!! ) & my life completely opened up before my eyes.  The second time I went to a biz seminar, the key-note speaker said this: “If you haven’t read a book this week, there is nothing you could say/advise that is worth listening to b/c leaders are readers~Orrin Woodward” I respected this man tremendously and to this day that respect has grown immensely.  I decided that day that reading had to be a part of my daily life.

Books have a magical way of enveloping your current level of thinking and transforming it to new heights.  Do yourself, your family, your culture, and your generation a huge favor and READ!

Below is a list of just some of my fav books.  I am not an expert in any area, but am a hungry student.  (not in order of favoritism…I can’t do that!)

The best suggestion I have for you is simple—-just begin to read.  Not just any book, but books that will help you grow, develop, and change.  I am extremely blessed & yet spoiled at the same time.  I associate with mentors that read over 40+ books per month and then decide on the ONE book that will be sent as the book of the month for us to read.  Do you think it is worth my time and respect to read it? Absolutely!

Here is a fail-proof formula…..If you want to read a book a month, take the # of pages and divide by 30, read it in a week–divide by 7. (this is my new level)  Discipline yourself to read every day.  It’s easy to do, and it’s easy not to do.  When I think of where my life is now b/c of the books I have read and the people I have surrounded myself with , many of which are best-selling authors, I am in awe of how my life has been enriched.  One seminar changed it all.

  1. Leadership: Tidbits & Treasures
  2. Launching a Leadership Revolution
  3. Leadership & Liberty
  4. 7 Habits of Highly Effective People
  5. In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day
  6. Critical Choices
  7. You Don’t Have to Have a Title To Be a Leader
  8. The Go-Giver
  9. Life is Tremendous
  10. The Millionaire Next Door
  11. Thomas Jefferson Education
  12. The Coming Aristocracy
  13. The Anatomy of Peace
  14. Leadership &  Self Deception
  15. The 5 Love Languages
  16. The 5 Love Languages of Apology
  17. Personality Plus
  18. Positive Personality Profiles
  19. The Difference Maker
  20. Balcony People
  21. The Health & Wellness Revolution
  22. The Next Trillion
  23. The Next Millionaire
  24. How to Have Power & Confidence in Dealing with People
  25. The Magic of Thinking Big
  26. How I Raised Myself From Failure to Success in Selling
  27. EMyth
  28. Eat That Frog
  29. Good to Great
  30. The One Minute Entrepreneur
  31. The Slight Edge
  32. Wooden
  33. Rich Dad, Poor Dad
  34. Cash Flow Quadrant
  35. The Prophecy-Kiyosaki
  36. Walking With God On A Road You Never Wanted To Travel
  37. Same Kind of Different as Me
  38. Steering Through Chaos
  39. Who Moved My Ladder
  40. The Next Level-Wilson
  41. Together on Top of the Mountain
  42. What to Say When You Talk To Yourself
  43. Simon Says
  44. I Dare You
  45. The Power of Meeting New People
  46. The Fourth Dimension
  47. Single Men are Like Waffles & Single Women are Like Spaghetti
  48. I Kissed Dating Good-bye
  49. Dance Until It Rains
  50. The Leader Who Had No Title
  51. The Power of Meeting New People
  52. The Ultimate Life
  53. Secrets of a Millionaire Mind
  54. etc…….the list goes on and I realize there are so many great books I have yet to explore.  Who has time for T.V.?

Electrifying & super charged

This is my “this weeks read”, The Ant & The Elephant……I am charging billions of neurons already just thinking of the impact it will make on my life! Can you see the elephant?

I can’t wait to hear how your life has changed b/c of the books you fall in love with!  Enjoy the  journey!

g

You’re the same today as you’ll be in five years except for the books you read and the people you meet.” ~ Charlie “Tremendous” Jones~

2 responses »

  1. Geneva. I have been following you on Facebook the past week or so. I can tell you are with TEAM. I am in the Niagara region on the Canadian side. With Claude and Lana Hamilton’s TEAM. What you wrote here was absolutely wonderful and I am proud to know you.
    Thank You.

    • Jerry,
      I am so honored that you would say that. Claude and Lana are truly 2 of my favorite people in the entire world. You can listen to everyone of their leaders and they have that same spirit, passion and determination. I am proud to be associated with such an awesome country filled with people destined to change their nation!
      See you guys in Freedom Hall!!

Leave a Reply

