Sharpening reveals beauty!

Standard

My friend, ‘kc , posted these on her Facebook today.  I was immediately reminded of how fortunate I am in surrounding myself with mentors who, in the words of Orrin Woodward,  “Loves you where you are, but  sees you as where you can be.”  Mentors sharpen & though at times it is a painful process,  the end  result is  beautiful.  I was like a unsharpened pencil or one that someone just used to erase pain, circumstances,  momentary afflictions.   This was not in a bad way, or as I was “used,” but I just wasn’t an effective leader.  Submitting to a mentor has sharpened me &  has shown me how to serve & sharpen  others effectively.

The words of the “pencil maker” below sounds like a sage.  One in which you would count it all joy to be  influenced by.



A PENCIL MAKER TOLD THE PENCIL FIVE IMPORTANT LESSONS JUST BEFORE PUTTING IT IN THE BOX :

1.) EVERYTHING YOU DO WILL ALWAYS LEAVE A MARK.

2.) YOU CAN ALWAYS CORRECT THE MISTAKES YOU MAKE.

3.) WHAT IS IMPORTANT IS WHAT IS INSIDE OF YOU.

4.) IN LIFE, YOU WILL UNDERGO PAINFUL SHARPENINGS,
WHICH WILL ONLY MAKE YOU BETTER.

5.) TO BE THE BEST PENCIL, YOU MUST ALLOW YOURSELF TO BE HELD AND GUIDED BY THE HAND THAT HOLDS YOU.

While reading these words, I was reminded of the passage of scripture that refers to iron sharpening iron.  The Message translation says it best today!


Your Face Mirrors Your Heart – Prov. 27:17

“You use steel to sharpen steel, and one friend sharpens another.”

I also love this quote: “He who wrestles with us strengthens our nerves and sharpens our skill. Our antagonist is our helper.” Edmund Burke


I can only hope you have people in your life who sharpen you & whom you sharpen to reveal true beauty, potential, passion & purpose.

Blessings,

g

2 responses »

  1. Good day!This was a really terrific topic!
    I come from uk, I was luck to approach your blog in wordpress
    Also I learn a lot in your theme really thanks very much i will come daily

Leave a Reply

