Admonish thy friends in secret, praise them openly. – Publilius Syrus

Standard

Many know I have just recently moved & am now embarking on the wondrous journey of being an empty nester.  There is nothing like opening your mail box & finding a treasure! I received this photo card from a friend today.   She took the time to search thru my FB pics & find a pic, which is actually one of my fav pics, of my babies!  The card verse reads, “It takes hands to build a house, but only hearts can build a home.”   The message reads, WELCOME HOME!! The writing was even in purple!  Two important things about this: (1) she knows my “why” & (2) is observant enough to even remember my fav color!

My "WHY"

kc Layne  is a new-found friend through the social media, Facebook.  We have a kindred spirit through our passion of health & wellness.  We also share the profession of networking.  She knew I had been loft searching & finally moved. There is no such thing as strangers, only friends we have yet to meet!  I am thankful God has allowed our paths to cross. What a sweet gesture on her part in taking the time to create a personal card to send to me, but even more meaningful to me as the recipient.

As we enter such a tech driven age with even the internet available on the top of Mount Everest, we must remember to take the time to be personal.  I am a card sender myself & it blesses me beyond measure to receive one.  I placed the card  beside one of my fav pics of my kiddos on my office credenza.

Praise your friends.  These are some great quotes below reminding us of how critical friendship can be!

If a man does not make new acquaintances as he advances through life, he will soon find himself alone. A man should keep his friendships in constant repair.-Samuel Johnson

I used to think of all the billions of people in the world, and of all those people, how was I going to meet the right ones? The right ones to be my friends, the right one to be my husband. Now I just believe you meet the people you’re supposed to meet. -Diane Frolov and Andrew Schneider

To the soul, there is hardly anything more healing than friendship.-Thomas Moore

The worst solitude is to be destitute of sincere friendship. -Sir Francis Bacon

My BFF, Glenda, gave me a decorative plate for my birthday specifically bearing the colors she knew I wanted to decorate  my loft with.  It reads, “A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words.”

Special thanks to kc & may you be inspired today!

Blessings,

g



Leave a Reply

