Blue Hue Effects

Standard

Here’s a question I heard this weekend.  If you watch TV every night for 5 years & do what it tells you, will you be financially FREE? I think debt, disillusioned, distressed, & destroyed are more terms to identify the results from this practice.

Lets explore your options!  As a result of media influences, how many will:

  • have a cable package that costs more than our support to our local church or charity?
  • finance exercise equipment that is never used?
  • apply for every credit card available for rewards that will change the next month?
  •  fill  cabinets with the wrong foods & kitchen with gadgets which will supply the  next garage sale?
  •  have all the toys: TVs, game consoles, stereo equip  only collecting dust b/c they are working 3 jobs to pay for it?
  •  re-fi their house which will cost  more money annually due to closing costs than their current house note?
  • do a reverse mortgage  on a home that is almost completely paid for?
  • buy that car causing insurance payments to increase?
  • have that gastric bypass surgery, lap band, or sleeve only to realize it was a quick fix & not a discipline for the root cause?
  • join a weight loss clinic, because the previous surgery didn’t keep the weight off & they are the exact same size as before?  Now they are paying fees to join &  for purchasing boxed processed foods with little to no actual nutritional value.
  • join a gym because it soothes the middle age insecurities, become sexy,  have an affair &  lose everything they were having trouble keeping?
  • wonder why they are on Xanax for anxiety, blood pressure meds to prevent a stroke & sleeping pills to help us forget we begin the rat race over in T-6hrs!

This is just a short list of influences the media has on our daily lives.  Reality TV is as far from reality as it can get, yet we numb our minds living the lives of someone else when we were created for greatness. Reality is, we need to turn it off & engage in activities that will challenge us to become who we are destined to become.

The average person has 24 hours to a day. Lets break it down with 6-8 hours spent on sleeping; 8-12 are spent on work, not including time to get ready & commute time which could add another 2-3 hrs.  Then, once home, if you have small kids, you pick them up from daycare, do homework, prepare dinner, get ready for bed & the cycle begins again.  In that home time, how many people shuffle their kids to video games, DVDs, etc. while the blue haze from the TV hypnotize their minds away from existence?  More than I would like to calculate. So how many hours are actually left out of those 24 to spend communicating, building relationships, preparing for our future or serving others? What about using that exercise equipment?

I love movies, but discipline my time even for those.  I have not had cable in over 3 years & can’t imagine what I would do with it now.  My vice was DIY, HGTV or CSI, Criminal Minds, anything that would make me try to figure out the solution before they did which appealed  to my melancholy personality with intrigue & details! During the phase of  HGTV, DIY my budget reflected the cause & effect from those shows. I could justify that it  would save me money rather than paying someone else to do the project & believe me….I have taken on some projects.  In actuality, my time is worth more than what it takes to indulge in said projects & technically I should have paid someone to do it.  However…I have left every one of those projects behind for someone who may or may not appreciate my hard work & labor of love. For example….I spent a couple of years & quite a bit of finances landscaping a yard for a house I owned in Louisiana.  It had a beautiful semi-circle drive which I lined with white miniature Crape Myrtles.  I had a gorgeous bird house pole with a purple wisteria & extraordinary curb appeal around the house itself. Trees such as Wax Crape Myrtles, Curly Willows, Purple Plums & Cherry. Flowers like powder puff, camellias, Althea, roses, hydrangea, lilies, lambs ear, dusty miller, sweet potato vines, containers with perennials, & etc.  It was amazing & lush!   When I sold the house, the person who bought it had a fear of snakes & leveled everything.  EVERYTHING!  So much for my investment right? Of course….I was “hypnotized”  to believe it would increase the value of my home.

Anyway…below is an interesting article I found on the subject of TV media influences.   While it is from 2007 & there are many articles available, I can only hope we understand the importance of  feeding our subconscious mind.  Even if the TV is in the background, our subconscious mind is very alert picking up on what is being said & suggested. Consider the effect of what these inputs will make during the next 5 years. Monitor your budget & analyze for yourself.

Blessings,

g

http://www.csun.edu/science/health/docs/tv&health.html

2 responses »

  1. You shot me in the heart with this one, Geneva. My cable T.V. and internet bundle service is $120 a month, paid automatically from checking account. However, each week I struggle and scrape and scrabble for a few dollars to put in the offering plate-pleased by my “dedication.”! How aweful!!

    • Brenda,
      I know exactly how you feel! I felt the same way & had to come to the same realization. I looked at all the “things” that got my attention & finances & had to make tough decisions. Those slight edge changes have helped me time & time again.
      I have found that if I want something really bad, I set a goal for it. Again….slight edge discipline in the area of my financial wants-vs-needs has changed my focus.
      Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

