Comfortably Numb

Standard

This morning, for some strange reason, the words, “Comfortably Numb” came to mind.  While this was clearly a song referencing the drug scene, I feel like this is what Americans have excepted with their debt. We have received a steady  infusion of mediocrity & complacency creating an apathetic numbness. Funny, but some of the lyrics say this:

When I was a child I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown the dream is gone
I have become comfortably numb

I talk to people daily whose response is, “I’m doing alright” & it saddens me to think they’ve compromised the dream of doing something great or even significant with their lives.  Doing alright is clearly a matter of opinion.  Christine Aguilera has a line in the movie, Burlesque, that hit a chord within me the second I heard her say it. When Jack asked Ali why she left her hometown, she says, “I looked around at everyone I knew & there wasn’t one life I wanted.”  I have to admit, there were people whom I admired because it appeared they had it all together until I realized appearances aren’t always what they seem.  It wasn’t the type of togetherness I ever wanted to settle for.  I still respect them as humans, but would never covet their lifestyle.  Some of these were doctors, lawyers, prestigious business men/women, executives, & etc.  Once you see beyond the norm into the realm of possibilities, it completely warps your brain!  Thank God!

The words from the Lennon song, Imagine, “You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one” resonate deep within my soul.  I was a nurse at age 4.  Everyone knew it, especially the dogs who were usually my patients!  Later, after fulfilling that career dream, the stirring of being more & doing more kept nagging at me.  In 2003, through a desperate set of circumstances, a friend gave me the book, “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”  by Robert Kiyosaki.  It provided the answers I knew existed.

In 2004 I left my hometown in Louisiana & moved to Texas with the sole purpose of discovering my destiny & fulfilling my purpose.  I have never had a problem with dreaming BIG!  I only had the problem of having the vehicle of making those dreams come true.  I realized working  as many hours per week as possible in 3 jobs  never provided that.  I have seen the effects of people who just accept this is a way of life for them.  You see it too. The glimmer of hope is erased from their eyes; their smiles are forced; relationships mirror the results & conversations locate their heart.   I am grieved, because as I have discovered, there is so much more.  I’ve never felt the numbness of giving up on my dream, only the anxiety of not getting it fast enough & there is certainly nothing comfortable about my lifestyle either!

I encourage you to inventory the parts of your life that perhaps you have buried.  Search your soul, which is your mind, will & emotions, to discover what really drives you.  What subject, when mentioned, excites you to the point of even bringing tears to your eyes?  What dream have you stuffed so far down in your psyche, only a soul search will unfold?  Once you determine this, believe me, there is a vehicle to provide the resources to accomplish it.  I know, it has changed my life to the point of never looking back in regret for making the choice.

 

There are many enemies out to steal your dream.  They come in the form of promotions, titles, pride, self-sabotage, friends, family, material things, etc.   The biggest enemy is, “I’m doing good” because good is the enemy of great.  If your dreams have been shattered, it’s time to dream again, only dream bigger than ever before.  The “Dream Giver” made sure you were born with seeds of greatness in you.  Break up the fallow ground, sow into the lives of others & receive a rich harvest in a life only imaginable in your dreams.

All our dreams come true if we have the courage to  pursue them –Walt Disney

Blessings,      

g                                                                                                                                                                          

Leave a Reply

