Voice of Truth

Standard

This weekend was spectacular!  My best friends / biz mentors reached & were recognized for achieving a very prestigious business goal.  We also introduced our Team name, Spartacus, to the world. This in itself was epic, but our amazing mentors came from St. Louis as hosts for the combined statewide business seminar.  Along with them a New York Times & Wall Street Journal best-selling author, #12 World Leadership Guru, co-founder of our business & mentor came as a guest speaker.  As you can tell, we were stoked!

I have been in business with my friends since Sept. 2006 & have seen the challenges they have faced, sacrifices made & changes they have welcomed.  They deserved this & much more.  This moment was surreal.  Since I have been in business that long, I too qualified for recognition.  Our business is the #1 community building organization & has been for over 10 years.  College textbooks are now aware of the power of community building & has featured our organization as being the one you can trust. It is totally awesome!  Being recognized for something no one else qualified for at this weekend seminar is a sanguine’s dream right? That was true until the voices began to battle over the moment.

We all have them don’t we?  Voices– negative, positive, indifferent, etc.  We have to choose at the moment which voice to believe.  I have had much practice in this area.  In 2004 I moved from Louisiana to Texas being totally obedient to God.   I knew one family in the Dallas area.  I moved with a 15 yr. old son, 2 Jack Russell Terriers, 1 aquarium of fish, & a cockatiel named Sweety Petey!  I left everything & everyone near & dear to me behind.  I gave up a 25+ yr. career in nursing to pursue lease purchase real estate.  One day, on my way to work, I was having a very loud, yet silent conversation with the “voices.”  I will never forget the place.  I lived in Lancaster, TX at the time & was at the TX-342 & I-20 intersection right at McDonald’s.  At this “intersection” the negative voice was screaming & winning big time!   As I crossed the overpass I will never forget what  happened.  Listening to the radio, KLTY played “Voice of Truth” by Casting Crowns.  I listened to the words, with tears streaming down my face, I knew I made the right decision.  After all…..to obey is better than to sacrifice right?

This past Saturday pre-seminar the news of reaching Team 100 should have been tremendous.  I was having the battle again.  Let me break down the conversations.  To help you understand, Neg=Negative (of course) VOT= Voice of Truth

Neg: Anybody can be recognized as a Team # whatever. That is nothing special.

VOT: The way we build our community, Team Approach focuses on building depth.  According to the new L.I.F.E. Compensation Plan, I’m in a perfect position for increase.

Neg: If you’ve been in so long, why are the Porter’s being recognized as new Round Table Members & you’re just a Team 100?  Turbo 10?

VOT: Look around! I don’t see any of the faces that started when I did! Go ahead!  Not only in my business, but many other businesses as well.  Most of the Policy Council, major leaders & groups talk about how many times they went back to zero.  They also talk about endurance & perseverance.  People quit.  They quit in business, quit in marriages, quit college, quit on their dreams, quit on life.  Being a Team 100 proves I’m not a quitter!  I’m still here!

Neg: You’re single & this is a couples biz.  Give up now because you will never make it any further.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            VOT: Really?  Au contraire!  This is a perfect season for me to build a business.  I am an empty nester without babysitting challenges, without kids schedules, without spousal schedules or anything that others face. Oh…I see! It was OK for me to be a single mother of 17 yrs, work 3 jobs, take care of cars, houses, bills, schedules, & everything else required. I worked in an industry that would have NEVER allowed me to become financially independent.  Why is this not the perfect chance for me to become who I am destined to become?  I addressed this very topic in an older blog.  I can answer why it is OK for the negative voice to attempt to try this on me.  Society says so.  I am not concerned about what society says.  I kissed status quo goodbye many, many years ago. If I’ve succeeded since 1994 raising kids, going to bible school, working, buying houses, etc., how much more can I succeed in an industry with a proven system guided by the most amazing mentors on the  planet!  Besides…..I don’t have to share my money with anyone!  There!  That is an awesome reason to build this single right?

But the Voice of truth tells me a different story
the Voice of truth says “do not be afraid!”
and the Voice of truth says “this is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth

I’m not sure what voices you are listening to these days.  Many of you hear the same voices on a regular basis.  I implore you to consider shutting the negative voice out by inputting  more positive  information.  It is a choice.  You can make this choice, even if it’s incrementally at first.  By applying slight edge principles, these choices becomes easier.  The voice of truth will overpower the negative & you will feel stronger, more deserving.  Besides….others will become empowered by your choices & God will receive the Glory.  After all…it’s all about Him!

 

One song read my mail, shut the negative voice out & allowed me to have a fresh, new look on my Texas adventure.  Oh…later that year, in 2004, I met Kirk & Nicole Porter at church.  We were in the 13 wk. “Discovering Your Purpose” class together, worked as directors in ministries &  formed a friendship, later becoming the foundation for being in an amazing business together.  See how thin threads weave destinies?  What if I had listened to that negative voice?  I don’t want to begin to imagine that path!

Listen carefully, mentor wisely & seek the voice of God to direct your path.

Blessings,

g

One response »

  1. “Voice of Truth | Geneva” Roman Shades How To Make definitely
    causes me personally imagine a somewhat more. I personally treasured each and
    every individual portion of this blog post. Thanks -Esteban

Leave a Reply

